tweeking rugers

Discussion in 'Rifle Talk' started by Anonymous, Jun 9, 2004.

1. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

any ruger m77 mark II experts out there. what is the general thought on bedding the action and floating the barrel hence removing the factory pressure point/design at the tip of the fore arm? anyone get negative results when done properly? my7mm rem mag shoots ok, but i would like to see it get to 3/4" m.o.a. not the 1 1/2" it has now. also in the works is a new after market trigger.

2. Drop-Shot

Drop-Shot Super Member

I'm not an expert,but I do own an older ruger mod 77.The gunsmith I used in Lafayette LA was an expert on rugers and put my action in a bell & carlson stock and he said he has best results with full length bedding.If you use after market barrels he said he would action bed the gun and try it.But with my 22 inch barrel he shot(I watched him) 1 1/4 inch 3 shot groups.I saved the target but the distance was only 80 yards,so 20 more yards might yield a bit bigger.I wanted the change because my gun shot at a different POA when hunting in wet weather,other wise I would have been happy with 2 inch groups.Down south all distances were 100 yds or less.When we moved to Montana I was happy about being able to shoot 200 yds accurately.The gunsmith also re-worked the factory trigger.Newer Rugers are a bit different I hear from my model.Drop-Shot

3. wwb

wwb Super Member

On almost any conventionally built rifle with a wood stock, you should bed the receiver and float the barrel to realize the best potential accuracy. With a synthetic stock, you can bed the whole barrel.