340 wby or 378 wby?

Discussion in 'Rifle Talk' started by markIVbigblock, Apr 13, 2005.

1. markIVbigblock

markIVbigblock Super Member

i wanna buy a new rifle this summer and i always wanted to go grizzly bear hunting and i like shooting big guns so i figured y not buy a gun now for a hunt ill get to in the future besides it might be fun to shoot woodchucks w/ a 340 or 378 even tho it would prolly cost 5 bucks each time i pulled the trigger lol so what would u use? im kinda set on the wby calibers so i was lookin for some opinions

Aaron

2. markIVbigblock

wow no one?! come on Luv2 I know u have somethin to contribute.

Aaron

3. pigeonhunter

pigeonhunter Guest

I'd like to start off by saying I have no experience with big bores, or big boars :D (Yes, not funny. I know.)

But...

I'm sure either would work for bears and be fun to dink around with. Even though recoil will be brutal. That said, I'd get the .378 'cause it probably more fun just doink around with. (But I can't find any Lefty .378's! :x ) I saw picture of a Jack that was shot with a .378. I thought the bullet would just go right through with not much damage. I was wrong. All that left was a little spoltch and some tufts of fur. So it would probably make a pretty fun 'chuck gun

4. Pat T

Pat T Moderator

Well I have a .340, and don't seem to be bothered by the recoil. But I have only been using the 200 grain PSP Wby cartridges, too. It's a tight shooting rifle, can put them into one moa for three shots from a cold barrel. This is from a Mark V Deluxe rifle with a ported barrel. I bought the rifle more becasue it's so dang pretty more than I needed a .340, but I like it anyway. Just had to get past the sticker shock when I went to buy the ammo! Good luck with yours, MarkIV.

PS, so do you HAVE one? A rat motor I mean?

5. markIVbigblock