caliber questions

Discussion in 'Rifle Talk' started by fasterthanbrian, Jun 3, 2005.

1. fasterthanbrian

fasterthanbrian Guest

Does anyone have some good links to learn about the differences in caliber sizes, uses, etc? Im new to this and there are a ton, 30-06 springfeild, .308, .300 mag, you know.

2. 1gsplover

1gsplover Super Member

:) Even if you never plan to reload, the data in a good reloading manual is really informative. :shock: just my $0.02.
    ///olde 8) pharte///

3. shooter93

shooter93 Well-Known Member

And two very good magazines to subscibe to...Rifle and Handloader both from Wolfe Publishing

4. mountainview

mountainview Super Member

FTB, if you are just looking to learn the ropes and terminology, just start hitting the library as most have a number of good introductory books for beginners to pick up the lingo and understand much of what you are likely looking to learn. A lot of good info here and online is also yours for the looking.

5. 870 ExpressMag

870 ExpressMag Guest

without starting a whole new thread..i have a question thats along the same lines....i am not a newbie..but not a seasoned vet either....i can hold my own..but i am curious about what the extra numbers MEAN... like .30-06 or .30-30 or 7mm-08 and what the difference between a regular .30 and a .30-06 or .30-30 is

maybe a dumb question but it's had me wondering for a while

6. wwb

wwb Super Member

Re: re: caliber questions

The .30-'06 Springfield is a .30 caliber cartridge, adopted by the US Army in 1906 - that's where the '06 comes from.

The .30-30, an early smokeless cartridge, is named the way they used to name black powder calibers.... it's a .30 caliber, and was originally loaded with 30 grains of smokeless powder.

The 7mm-08 is a .308 necked down to 7mm (.284 cal) - originally a wildcat, now a factory round.

7. 870 ExpressMag

870 ExpressMag Guest

thats confusing! :shock:

so the differewnce between a .30-06 and a .30-30 is the year?

8. wwb