Shooting World Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am planning on buying a new hunting rifle and I am thinking about the following:

Winchester Model 70
or
Browning X-Bolt/A-Bolt
or
Remington Model 770

I am on a budget (as low as possible) but with good enough quality and performance. I use it for hunting games, small or big is undecided yet.

For deciding which one to get, I would like to know the pros and cons of those models and other information, such as how they feel etc.,which can only obtained from experience such as handling those model and firing them. Since I haven't decided specifically for the game size yet, I would like to know the performance of the rifles with different calibre as well as for which game it is suited best with.

Any suggestions to other rifles are welcomed to compare with the ones listed above. I am new to owning rifle and looking forward to suggestions, comments and advices.

Thanks!

·
Registered
335 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

The new M70s seem like well made rifles, and the Brownings are also excellent rifles. The Remington 770 would not be on my list of guns to consider.

Since you're on a budget, look at the T/C Venture or a Savage with the Accu-trigger. Both are extremely accurate rifles.

·
Registered
36 Posts
That`s a mountain of information your looking for so it would help if you were a little my specific. If your not sure, it makes it hard trying to fill in the blanks. Guys will offer some in-sight but you`ve got set the course.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I meant to include Remington M700 as well.

More specifically, I am interested in knowing the experience of using those rifles and to decide which one I should get. I am mainly looking at the quality durability and reliability of those rifles, then see if the various features are practically useful ranging from the trigger, safety, bolt to the construction of the system.

·
Premium Member
633 Posts