Newb looking for first Rifle

Discussion in 'Rifle Talk' started by FortyFiveCal, Mar 10, 2005.

1. FortyFiveCal

FortyFiveCal Guest

Hello all,

I'm a newb here and I'm looking for some advice. I'm trying to figure out what would be a good first rifle. I want to start out shooting with iron sights and move to a scope later on. I have a budget of roughly $1500 and I don't want to skip on quality. I'm not opposed to semi, bolt action, and lever action but I definitely do not want a single shot. I'm not recoil sensitive but I don't want to spend whole lot of money on ammo, for instance, $20.00 for 20 rounds of .308win. I've been thinking about a .22 but I've shot a 10/22 and it feels like shooting a pellet rifle, despite that, I find the Remington 504's attractive but i'm not sure if they come with iron sights or not. Like I said, I don't want to use a scope because I want to learn to shoot accurately with regular sights first. What do you guys think? I'm open to any suggestions or comments. Thanks in advance!

2. wired

wired Guest

If you're looking for something cheap and fun to shoot, you can go with a .22LR and be the happiest guy on the planet. Keep in mind that none of the .22LR rifles are going to have much kick to them, so expect all of them to feel like an air rifle. If you want something with useable oomph, go with a .223 (it's almost as dirt cheap as .22LR). It's one of my personal favorites because of the cost, variety of ammo, and the versatility of this great cartridge. Or, you could go with something like a Beretta Cx4 Carbine in 9mm. You could even go with something that fires 7.62X39, like one of the AK clones or an SKS. CZ makes a nice bolt action that fires it, too.
    Pretty much the question is this: What are you gonna use it for?

3. FortyFiveCal

FortyFiveCal Guest