Proper shooting technique

Discussion in 'Rifle Talk' started by RockHillian, Jun 26, 2005.

1. RockHillian

RockHillian Guest

I am new to shooting period. I shot a borrowed .30 - 06 five times and that was it. But I fell in love with shooting it and hunting whitetail. I just bought a Savage 111F in 7mm Rem Mag and I was wondering if I could get some pointers on technique and maybe some exercises to build my armstrength.

2. Pat T

Pat T Moderator

Welcome to the shooting ranks and ShootingWorld! The most important thing you can do is take an NRA safety course to learn the ins and outs of handling firearms and not being a hazard to yourself or anyone else. I'm not saying this as an insult to you, but I know none of us (especially me) was born knowing how to properly handle a firearm. Probably the best thing you could do as far as practice on your own would be to do some dry firing of your rifle. This will get you used to the trigger pull and not induce a flinch from shooting the 7mm Mag a lot. It can be easy to get a flinch if you're starting out and maybe don't have a good hold of the rifle. You get popped a couple of times and then you're blinking and pushing the rifle when you know it's about to go off. Next thing to get (and this is a fun one) would be a .22 bolt action rifle about the same size as the Savage, and practice like crazy with that. Way cheaper to shoot, no recoil. Thirdly, join a local gun club and ask some of the more experienced folks there about shooting form. Most fellows are good natured and willing to help a new guy out. I hope some of this has been helpul to you, and I truly hope you enjoy your 7mm and the gun hobby. Keep asking away here, too. Lots of great guys on this board that forgot more than I'll ever know about hunting and firearms.

3. Irish Setter

Irish Setter Guest