puting a scope on my new rifle

Discussion in 'Rifle Talk' started by hunter, Aug 9, 2005.

1. hunter

hunter Guest

Im new to rifles and just bought a new 700 BDL in 30-06 and im thinking about putting a scope on it. I was wondering if i'd be better off paying someone to do it for me or if i would be able to do it my self? If i end up doing it my self, i would like some tips if any one had some for me.

2. huntswithdogs

huntswithdogs Moderator

I'd let someone else do it. Stand close and watch. Ask questions. That's the way to learn.

Depending on style of mounts you may be able to do this. Some,like Leupold or Burris,require you to twist in the front ring. If you get a little off,you'll put a kink in your scope. Lots of stuff can go wrong. That's why I made the first statement.

HWD

3. mike .308

mike .308 Well-Known Member

HWD is right you'd best let a gunsmith do it since there professionals at that kind of stuff.

4. mountainview

mountainview Super Member

Putting a scope on is not too bad even for a beginner IF you are patient, take your time, double check your work before actually doing it. It is basically mounting some screws. But if you are really unsure or happen to be tool-challenged, watch someone or have a reputable smith do it.

I was always hesitant to do such tasks but decided to try it not long ago and followed my own advice the first time I did it. I was gratified that it worked out very well and taught me a whole bunch of things about my rifle to the point that I routinely trouble shoot other folks mounting problems at the range. Trigger work and such, on the other hand is best left to folks who really know what they are doing.

Other tips
    1) have proper tools (a gun rest/vise is right handy) and blue loc-tite (just a dab for the screws holding the bases). Some of the Leupold rings require a special tool (though a dowel rod used with caution in the rings works on these also)