shooting a tighter group

Discussion in 'Rifle Talk' started by marine one, Sep 15, 2005.

1. marine one

marine one Guest

how can i shot a better tighter group? usually my fist and second shot are right in the bulls eye and all other shots are all over the target! i am a very good shoter not to brag but i am not a novice! i was in the marine corps 8 years and was always an expert shot! i am now shoting a savage 30-06 with a scope and with accutriger. do i need to let the barrel cool a few minutes before i take my next shot. i am using sandbags to steddy my self. please help

2. luv2safari

luv2safari Moderator

Check the barrel bedding for a pressure spot. If you find one, scrape it off...start here...

L2S

3. mountainview

mountainview Super Member

Letting the barrel cool is not a bad idea at all. The light sporter weight barrels on many hunting rifles get very hot after touching off 2-3 shots and will "walk" the rounds on the target. I like to take an extra rifle to shoot while the other cools down.

4. The_Cook

The_Cook Guest

I agree with the last post, letting the barrel cool good idea :D

5. RWH24

RWH24 Guest

It may also depend where you are resting the rifle on the sandbags. Wood or Synthetic stock? You did not say. Move the sandbags further to the rear nearer the mag well. Get away from the very front of the forend.

6. elderberry99

elderberry99 Guest

I recently purchased a Savage 11FL in .243 with a Nikon 3X9X40 scope. I place very tight 1/2" groups with standard Remington PSP Core-Lokt 100 grain ammo. I too had the same trouble with my first couple shots being right in the X, but after that, I would lose a shot off the mark until I started letting the rifle barrel cool down for a few minutes.