Shooting World Forums banner

Whistle Pig guns

12K views 19 replies 15 participants last post by  MAX & TOBY 
#1 ·
So what do you all carry for whistle pigs (groundhogs for all you yankees). I carry my 17HMR or my 30-06 depeding if it's close or long range shooting I'm doing. I've also taken them with a crescent wrench but that is a story for a differnt time.

#2 ·
HunterJon said:
I've also taken them with a crescent wrench but that is a story for a differnt time.
You can't leave us hangin' like that! We want the crescent wrench story!!!!!!!!.....................

oh, yeah, groundhogs. Usually a 30-06, but sometimes as small as a .22mag if I know it's going to be a close (closer) shot. At least close enough that I can get a good head shot.

S.

#5 ·
The crescent wrench story. I have been working as a farm hand for the past 4 years, and one day I was teaching one of my friends how to drive a tractor. While we were out in the field I saw a whistle pig running around. So i told my friend to hand me the wrench that was sitting in the toolbox on the tractor, I then took off through the field after the the little sucker. I caught up to him and got fairly close, so I chucked the wrench boomerang style and clocked the thing in the head. Killed it right there. My friends back at the barn all thought I was full of it till I showed them the body.

#10 ·
I'll shoot 'em with anything I can lay my hands on, from the .22LR to my .338/06 Ackley Improved. I like the .22LR when i catch them eating my bean plants in the garden, and the .338/06 was probably a one time thing [target of opportunity]. Most of the time I'll use a .223 or my .22 Hornet. Most spectacular in performance is my .220 Swift with the Hornady 50 gr. V-Max. Unfortunately the gun is too heavy to carry around, its a fifties vintage benchrest competition gun. Seems like a good excuse to buy another gun...a medium weight .220 Swift sporter. Lets see if I can sneak that under the wife's radar.

#17 ·