Shooting World Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
918 Posts
Not only would..... did. 7 or 8 years ago, there were a couple guys hunting deer in our area, using snowmobiles... illegal during shooting hours. Down at the general store that evening, we ran into the local warden and told him about the snowmobilers and where they were running.

Next day, he busted 'em.... not only were they using the sleds to pursue the deer, they had a truckload of deer back at their camp - they had only 4 tags but had about ten deer. Vehicles confiscated, snowmobiles confiscated, rifles confiscated, and hunting priveleges suspended for five years, as well as about $2500 each in fines.

· Registered
1,427 Posts
For breaking game laws, have and would do so again. Being a law enforcment officer I have a duty to do this and even take action if in my jurisdiction. Even if I were not an officer, I would report infractions of most kinds. Those involving kids or obvious beginners I might not but I definitely would have a talk with them to point out the error of their ways. As for recklessness, a maybe, as some forms of recklessness are not actionable. I would likely have a talk with the offenders if I thought the action was due to ignorance or faulty reasoning but would contact authorities if I thought the reckless acts were due to spite or willfulness.
I feel there is a need for discretion in much of law enforcement and with some people a warning and a pointing out of error will go much further and get a better reception than a ticket. Of course, if it were what I consider a serious or flagrant infraction I would have no compunction tossing the book at them.

· Premium Member
1,876 Posts
For the most part, yes. I have known people who were down & out so badly that the deer they poached was all the meat they would get for a very long time...and they had kids to feed. That would make for a much tougher call.

· Registered
3,764 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·