Youth rifle question

Discussion in 'Rifle Opinions' started by sawzall, Nov 21, 2005.

1. sawzall

sawzall Guest

My son would like to learn to shot a rifle. He is 9 years old and wants to learn how to shot targets. He talks about being on the olympic shooting team all the time.
    I am new to all of this and would like to know how to get him started, what is a good starter rifle, and what equiptment would he need to get started?
    Thanks from a new guy.

2. 8pointduck

8pointduck Super Member

Not sure about target shooting( I'm a hunter), but a .22 bolt action rifle would not be a bad start.You not being a shooter,and for that I'm sorry,should also get involved in the sport.The other thing you might do is find a local gun club and join it. Sounds like alot of money but it will be worth it .A good club will have other shooters that can help you along the way to you and your sons goals.This is an honorable sport. One that take patience and the will to overcome all obstacles. I myself do product testing at the range( my handloads ),but know many target shooters who are great guys..

3. mike .308

mike .308 Well-Known Member

For a 9 year old start him off with a bee bee gun if you hadn't already. Then as becomes more mature and learns more about gun safety you could get him a .22 or .22 mag. Or you can take him one step further and get him a .223. Or another option is a single shot .410. This is a safe gun because he won't have more than one shell in the chamber at a time. These guns would be my first choices for anyone 10 or under.

4. Drop-Shot

Drop-Shot Super Member